Introducion

B.S. in Finance aims to develop experts and leaders in the field of international finance. The program will familiarize students with the financial system, international financial market structure and its operation mechanism. With our guidance, students will study the fundamentals of economics and international finance, master relevant policies and regulations applicable to domestic and international trade, and will be able to flexibly use modern financial theories as well as qualitative and quantitative methods to solve real-world financial problems. In the meanwhile, our program places emphasis on the training of students’ insight, analytical ability, critical thinking, and innovative consciousness. Professionally trained students will gain an in-depth understanding of the globalization process of economic, technological, legal, social and other aspects associated with contemporary economic trends. Graduates will be become high-level financial professionals with strong competence who are working on positions related to research and development, application, and evaluation of financial products in financial institutions and non-financial institutions such as banks, securities, insurance, funds and trust leasing. B.S. in Finance is listed as the First-Class Discipline construction project of Zhejiang province in 2015. In 2019, the program was elected as the Provincial First-Class undergraduate program development project. The program integrates Bloomberg into core courses.

 

Career Prospects

The financial industry is a high-growth industry domestically and internationally. Currently, there still exists a huge gap for financial professionals, especially those who have global vision and international experience. Students of WKU can apply for exchange study to Kean University in the United States, which is conducive to developing the international vision and fostering global mindset. With its unique geographical advantage (30 minutes’ drive from Manhattan Financial Center), Kean University builds good cooperative relationships with many financial institutions on Wall Street in New York, making full use of all the advantages of resources to strengthen the practical training in the teaching practice, and providing WKU students with abroad internship opportunities of well-known financial institutions. Students can obtain a Kean USA degree in finance upon graduation, which is recognized internationally by all universities and provides strong support for applying postgraduate studies abroad, especially the well-known colleges and universities in the United States.

Employment directions: financial firms (banks/funds/securities firm/futures companies/ financial lease companies/assets management companies), government agencies, institutions, and self-employment.

Further education: More than 60% of Finance graduates choose to pursue further studies abroad; most of them enter the top 50 universities in the world. Some of the students choose to take Chinese postgraduate entrance exams who have now been admitted to prestigious domestic universities, such as the Peking University and Shanghai University of Finance and Economics.

Selected Graduate Schools:

USA British Commonwealth China
University of Chicago King’s college London, UK Chinese University of Hong Kong
Johns Hopkins University University College London, UK City University of Hong Kong
Columbia University McMaster university, Canada Peking University
Boston University University of Nottingham, UK University of Nottingham Ningbo
Brown University York University, UK
University of Rochester University of Glasgow, UK
Washington University in St. Louis University of Sydney, Australia
University of Maryland Australian National University

(Source: 2016, 2017&2018 Wenzhou-Kean University Graduate Employment Quality Report)

 

Knowledge and Skills

B.S. in Finance contains areas of international finance, applied finance, mathematical finance, etc. The major has a reasonable knowledge structure, as it not only emphasizes the foundation in mathematical finance and econometrics, but also has core features of the financial field, such as investment analysis, securities management, finance derivatives, international financial products/markets, etc. It also covers disciplines closely related to finance, such as financial management, information technology, project management, etc. This program develops students’ ability to analyze, process, plan and forecast modern financial problems.

The program focuses on the combination of theory with practice – CBPM is equipped with Bloomberg Labs, and part of the finance core curriculum includes laboratory teaching. With access to Bloomberg terminals, students can keep up-to-date with international financial information, fully grasp the operations skills of Bloomberg terminals, and accumulate practical experience in data collection and tool analysis. Thus our graduates possess competitive advantage over other students who have not yet had access to Bloomberg terminal.

 

Core Courses

  • Corporate Finance
  • International Business Finance
  • Derivatives
  • Investments and Portfolio Management
  • Financial Institutions & Markets
  • Financial Statement Analysis
  • Intermediate Macroeconomics
  • Intermediate Microeconomics
  • Quantitative Methods in Economics

 

Find out more information of Finance B.S. in Kean University:

https://www.kean.edu/academics/programs/finance

专业介绍

金融学专业旨在引领学生探索金融系统和国际金融市场结构及其运行机制,培养国际金融领域的专家和领导者。 在掌握经济学和国际金融等方面的基本理论知识的前提下,引导学生熟悉中国以及国际通行的行业政策和法规,灵活地运用现代金融理论和定性定量工具,创造性地解决现实金融问题。在此过程中,专业重点培养学生的洞察力、分析能力、批判性思维以及创新意识,使学生深入了解与当代经济趋势相关的经济、科技、法律、社会等各方面的全球化进程,在未来能够胜任银行、证券、保险、基金、信托租赁等金融机构和非金融机构的工作,成为具有很强实践性和全球竞争性的高层次金融人才。金融学专业所属的应用经济学学科在2015年被列为浙江省一流学科建设项目,2019年入选2019年度省级一流本科建设项目。金融学部分课程已纳入Bloomberg彭博技术。

职业前景

金融行业是国内以及国际上具有高成长性的行业,且存在巨大的人才缺口,尤其是具备全球化视野和国际经历经验的复合型专业人才。学生在读期间可申请赴美国肯恩大学交流学习,有利于拓展全球化视野和培养国际化思维。美国肯恩大学凭借独特的地理优势(与曼哈顿金融中心30分钟车程),与纽约华尔街的众多金融机构保持良好的合作关系,强化专业教学与实务实践相结合的特色优势,为学生提供全球知名金融机构的海外实习平台。学生毕业即可获得美国肯恩大学金融专业学位,全球高校认可,为学生的出国留学申请提供强有力的支持,尤其是美国知名高校研究所。

毕业生就业去向:金融企业(银行/基金/证券/期货/金融租赁/资产管理)、 政府机构、事业单位、自主创业等。

毕业生升学去向:超过60%的毕业生选择出国继续深造,大多进入全球前50强高校;部分学生国内考研,被北京大学国际法学院、上海财经大学等知名高校录取。

毕业生读研去向(节选部分全球知名研究生院):

美国 英联邦国家 中国
芝加哥大学 伦敦国王学院 北京大学
哥伦比亚大学 伦敦大学学院 香港中文大学
约翰霍普金斯大学 加拿大麦克马斯特大学 香港城市大学
布朗大学 英国诺丁汉大学 宁波诺丁汉大学
罗切斯特大学 英国约克大学
华盛顿大学圣路易斯 英国格拉斯哥大学
马里兰大学 澳大利亚悉尼大学
波士顿大学 澳大利亚国立大学
…… ……

知识技能

金融学专业培养领域主要有国际金融、应用金融、数理金融等,具有合理的知识结构,既有扎实的数理金融、计量经济学基础,也有金融领域的核心特色,如投资分析、证券管理、金融衍生品、国际金融产品/市场等,同时涵盖与金融密切相关的学科,如财务管理、信息技术、项目管理等,培养学生对现代金融问题的分析、处理、规划和预测能力。

本专业注重理论和实践相结合,配置国际顶尖的彭博金融实验室,部分金融核心课程包含实验室教学。通过接触彭博金融交易与数据终端,学生可以保持与国际财经资讯的实时同步,充分掌握彭博金融交易与数据终端的使用技巧,获得数据操作、工具分析等实践经验,在毕业之后比其他尚未接触过彭博终端的学生更具竞争优势。

核心课程

  • 公司金融
  • 国际商务金融
  • 金融衍生品
  • 投资与投资组合管理
  • 金融机构市场
  • 财务报表分析
  • 中级宏观经济学
  • 中级微观经济学
  • 经济学计量方法

(注:2019年后入学的学生适用新版培养计划,其中新增了经济学计量方法课程,满足学生在金融分析方面对计量方法的要求,顺应国内外研究生院校及用人单位对学生分析能力的要求)

更多关于金融学(国际金融方向)专业的信息,请参考:
http://www.kean.edu/KU/School-of-Accounting-Finance